Rick Springfield releases new Rocket Science album

Rick Springfield is on fire!

Well, not literally, but there’s no doubt the man most known for “Jessie’s Girl” is as prolific and busy as he’s ever been. Fresh off his appearance at the iHeart80s Party, Springfield surprised fans by dropping his latest album – his 18th! – called Rocket Science. The new collection comes less than a year after his previous record, Stripped Down.


The busy rocker told iHeart Media the album isn’t all about love and sex. He says, “This one took a couple of years just to kind of have something to say, and there’s a lot going on in the world.” He also say that Rocket Science his most positive album he’s ever written … because, as he says, he’s decided to “stop moaning.”

rocket_science_0_1455814875“It’s the most positive record because I decided to stop moaning. My last record was called Songs for the End of the World, so there wasn’t any other place to go but up. So I decided to start looking at giving a positive vibe out rather than just moaning, which I’m more apt to do. There’s a song called ‘Pay it Forward’ and there’s one called ‘Crowded Solitude’ that talks about amongst all the noise and luster outside, just to settle and find your center. And there’s one called ‘Light this Party Up,’ about partying.”

Track Listing:

1. Light This Party Up
2. Down
3. That One
4. The Best Damn Thing
5. Miss Mayhem
6. Pay It Forward
7. Found
8. Crowded Solitude
9. Let Me In
10. All Hands on Deck
11. We Connect
12. (I Wish I Had A) Concrete Heart
13. Earth to Angel

Here’s the first official Rocket Science music video, “Light This Party Up” – a sentiment we can get behind.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *